I recently watched (and read the book) A Walk to Remember by Nicholas Sparks, in which a trouble-making student, Landon, falls for the terminally ill Reverend’s daughter, Jamie. One of my favourite scenes in the film is when Jamie mentions the some of the items on her bucket list, and on their first date Landon helps her achieve them.

As a result, I was inspired to make my own bucket list of 25 things I want to do before I die. Some of them you’ll find are taken directly from the film, as I thought they were worthy ambitions, but most of them are my own.

  1. Write a book
  2. Visit New York
  3. Graduate high school
  4. Be in two places at once
  5. Be a mum
  6. Work for a charity
  7. Build schools in a third world country
  8. Protest for something I’m passionate about
  9. Visit Harry Potter World
  10. Have something named after me
  11. Swim with dolphins
  12. Buy macarons in Paris
  13. Wear a ball-gown
  14. Sleep under the stars
  15. Dance in the moonlight
  16. See a Broadway show
  17. Visit Euro Disney
  18. Go on a roadtrip
  19. Have my own apartment
  20. Get to the end of a rainbow
  21. Make a wish on a shooting star
  22. See a meteor shower
  23. Go cliff jumping
  24. Learn another language
  25. Learn to play a musical instrument

Some of these are overly ambitious and some of these are simple, but they’re all things I hope to accomplish in my lifetime. Whether it’s something poetic or noble or simple, I think it’s incredibly important to have something to aspire to, and I can’t wait to achieve mine.

Leave a Reply

