I live in a fairly rural area, and one of the farms near my house (which is open to the public as an educational center too) had a second hand book sale the other weekend. My friend and I decided it was definitely something we wanted to check out and I’m really glad I did, because I picked up the above books, all in excellent condition, for only $10!

Books Pictured

Perfect Match – Jodi Picoult

I have always loved Jodi Picoult stories, especially those concerned with parent/child relationships. My favourite book of her’s is definitely Handle With Care.

This is a book about a mother who shoots the man who sexually abused her son, and the implications this has. I can’t wait to read it, and I’m interested to see how Jodi Picoult handles a sexual assault, considering she’s an author that is prolific at doing her research.

Between Shades of Grey – Ruta Sepetys

Not going to lie, I picked this up because I adored the cover. However, after reading the blurb I’m certainly looking forward to reading it.

It’s about a girl called Lina, who is living her life happily until the Soviet secret police invade her home and forcibly remove her, her mother, and her brother.

The Hypnotist’s Love Story – Liane Moriarty

This was picked up with the intent to read in Thailand when I go later this year, so it’s a bit of a cheesy read as, suggested by the title.

The Game of Love and Death – Martha Brockenbrough

I picked this one up because the title intrigued me and the blurb did even more. It’s four sentences long and reads:

Love and Death choose their players in an eternal game. Death has never lost and Love will do anything to win.

Henry and Flora find each other, not knowing they are players. Can their love be enough to keep them both alive?

Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason – Helen Fielding

I have just finished the hilarious Bridget Jones’s Diary. It only made sense to pick this up too.

I’m looking forward to reading all of these books and I’m still overjoyed that I got to get them all so cheaply. Keep an eye out, some of these might be reviewed on here too!

Leave a Reply

