Feminism is a buzz word. No doubt about it. Most people hear it and think “what a bunch of lesbian, man hating radicals”.

So I am here today to clear things up. It’s important to me; I believe in gender equality and therefore I believe I’m a feminist, but I’m sick of being called feminazi whenever I bring it up.

First of all, here’s a video from Buzzfeed that I think helps explain this perfectly:

Feminism should not be a dirty word. A feminist is someone who wants gender equality.

Feminism should not be a dirty word. A feminist is someone who wants everyone to have the same opportunities.

Feminism should not be a dirty word. A feminist is someone who wants to make sure that there is no one on this earth who is struggling more then any other.

In case I haven’t make this clear enough; a feminist is someone who believes everyone is important, everyone is equal, everyone deserves the same opportunities.

They are not a bunch of lesbian, man hating radicals.

Got it?

(This post was written before changes to my blog, when all posts where categorized by “sparks”. Any and all references to Katy/Everyday/Travelling/Life Sparks or Sparkszine are as a result of this)

2 thoughts on “Feminism

  1. And of course, being a lesbian, man hating radical is not a bad thing, either! 🙂

    In response to others’ misguided criticisms of feminism (feminazi, etc.), I think an explanation of intersectionality can help. Granted, intersectionality isn’t the easiest to explain to a stranger, and in a way increases one’s discomfort by suggesting they consider all avenues through which they experience privilege while others experience oppression. Our newest wave of feminism is about dismantling systems of privilege and oppression based on gender, class, race, and sexuality. Feminism is becoming more of an umbrella term to address all forms of oppression. When people understand that, how can they not want to embrace it?

    This video does a good job of attempting to break negative stereotypes surrounding feminism. I only wish that people weren’t afraid to, in some cases, embrace their connections to those stereotypes while being a feminist. I am angry about the patriarchy and everyday sexism I encounter. I won’t apologize for that. I want other people to rethink their words and actions, so I will point their inconsistencies out to them.

    Part of breaking the patriarchy and ending sexism (as well as oppression based on race, class, and sexuality) is embracing our anger and outrage at the way things are. Otherwise, there would be no need for a movement. It is unlikely that we’ll solve the issues by smiling and calmly saying things to others. Yes, I would love it if that would work. But I’m not going to hold my breath.

    Good for you for embracing the word and sharing your passion. It is important that other do not dismiss your opinions based on their negative perceptions of feminists. Feminism is so many things, and you can define it for yourself. Have you read, “We Should All Be Feminists” by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie? Awesome introduction to feminism and explanation for why everyone should embrace it.

    Let’s embrace our buzz word together!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think the thing that irritates me almost more than people that say they aren’t feminists are the wishy washy people that are all “Oh I don’t know, I support feminism, but I wouldn’t call myself a feminist” Or those that say any male that’s a feminist needs to say he’s a feminist ally. Really either you’re a feminist or not. And separating the men from the women in feminism is everything that feminism is against. It’s about equality and raising everyone up to be even not raising women above men.

    I adore this post though, it’s perfectly written.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

