So it took us nearly a month, but my friends and I finally got out act together and went an enjoyed an afternoon at the movies, watching Mockingjay Part 2!

Warning: This post contains spoilers – please do not read any further if you don’t want to know about it.

I have to say, I was less then enthused. I didn’t come out of it raving, the way I did about Part 1; in fact, I didn’t even come out crying the way I did with Part 1. Mockingjay was not my favourite book in the series and I felt that the ending was rushed and choppy. I also felt that Prim’s death was a cheap plot twist, there to shock viewers and readers alike, but it had absolutely no relevance to the story. If she had died and that was what prompted Katniss to become the Mockingjay, then maybe I could understand it, but I hated the way she died. It was pandering to a fanbase that wanted to be shocked. To be entirely honest, I had hoped they would rectify at least the rushed ending in the film, but they didn’t. If anything, it was more confusing then the book. I took a friend with me to watch it and she had to clarify whether Prim and Snow actually died.

I also felt that they didn’t split the movies very well. There was a lot of action in the first one, and a lot of pointless moving between districts and useless conversation in the second. It felt long and dragged out and difficult to really continue to pay attention to after a while.

I do also have to admit that I went into this movie expecting to come out a mess; The Hunger Games are important to me and the book was full of very raw emotion. However I didn’t feel nearly as connected to the characters in the movie; Katniss annoyed me and while my heart broke for Peeta, it certainly didn’t feel as gut wrenchingly horrific as it did reading the books. Katniss came off as cold and distant, which I understand she is, but you just can’t translate the emotions she was feeling in the book into a film. While I understand this and understand that this is why I’ll never love a film more then a movie, I still came away disappointed.

So I think in future, I’ll just stick to the books.

(This post was written before changes to my blog, when all posts where categorized by “sparks”. Any and all references to Katy/Everyday/Travelling/Life Sparks or Sparkszine are as a result of this)

2 thoughts on “Mockingjay

  1. I agree about Prim’s death. That’s one of the main criticisms I have about Mockingjay – Part 2, which I discussed at length in my blog review. It lacked emotional resonance, especially when compared with the genuine sadness of Rue’s death in the first movie. I’ve been a Hunger Games fan since I read the books in 2011, but this movie was disappointing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

