This is Jesse Andrews’ first book, and if he releases any more, I’ll certainly be on the lookout, because I’d love for him to redeem himself.

But I have to say, I was very disappointed in this book. I was hoping for something akin to Fault In Our Stars I suppose – something that would maybe leave me a little upset and certainly satisfied, but probably not having any grand realizations about my life. Having never had cancer, or known anyone with it, I certainly didn’t expect for this book to change my life in any way.

It did change my life.

It made me realize that I shouldn’t waste time on books that I don’t enjoy, or read something just because it’s being made into a movie.

The thing about this book that annoyed me was that it kept putting itself down. Over and over, the narrator, Greg, would talk about how it was “brain punchingly inane” or that you should “smack yourself in the face a couple of times right now, just to complete the outstandingly stupid experience that is this book”. You have to have confidence in whatever you do, and writing a book is included. I understand that this was a character trait – at no point in the book could Greg take a compliment well – but that’s another thing. Greg annoyed me.

He was whiny and miserable and at no point in the book did I feel any kind of connection to him. He was awful to the girl who had cancer – there is a difference between treating the person who is terminally ill the same as always and just plain trying too hard to be normal and coming across like an idiot. Greg always crossed that line.

I have to give credit to the author. The book was formatted cleverly. Greg wishes to be a film maker, and so most of the dialogue was written in script form, which was clever and new and kept me engaged throughout the book but that was it’s only redeeming factor.

It was a book about a girl with cancer, that tried too hard to be a “different” book about a girl with cancer. It tried too hard to be The Fault In Our Stars, minus the life changing revelations. And it read that way.

My opinion is only mine, and if you love this book, that’s great! Go ahead and love it, that’s your call. Everyone loves different things and personally, I just did not enjoy this book. But you might and that’s fine.

I would rate Me and Earl and the Dying Girl 1/5.

(This post was written before changes to my blog, when all posts where categorized by “sparks”. Any and all references to Katy/Everyday/Travelling/Life Sparks or Sparkszine are as a result of this)

Leave a Reply

